Minutes for May 16, 2017

Minutes of the Meeting of the Oconee County Democratic Committee

May 16, 2017, Oconee County Library In Watkinsville

Committee members present: Wendy Wade, Ann Stoneburner, Carolyn Crawford, Dan Matthews, Bill Gohdes, Wanda Stitt-Gohdes, Angie Eells, Ray Zwaagstra, Margaret Holt, Pam Davis, Robert Wyatt, Diana Jeffreys, Pat Adams, Paul Dotterweich

Absent: Sarajane Love, Vicky Moody, Violet Dawe and Priscilla Sumner

Guests: Freeland Abbott, Anne Hammonds, Andrea Wellnitz, Jennifer Gude, Karen Hilyard, Susan Thomas, Susan Bleyle, Melissa Hopkinson, Robin Dotterweich, Tracey Wyatt

Chair Angie Eells called the Meeting to Order at 6:30 p.m., and she requested and received unanimous approval of the Agenda.  After the Pledge of Allegiance, the Chair recognized elected officials present, who spoke briefly about the townships represented: Dan Matthews (Watkinsville city council) and Paul Dotterweich  (New High Shoals city council).

As our State Committee Member, Angie Eells gave a report on the activities of the Committee and submitted them to Pam Davis, Secretary.

Affiliates were recognized:  Karen Hilyard, representing the Indivisible Group, reported on their recent visit to Jodi Hice’s office in Monroe, as did Melissa Hopkinson and Andrea Wellnitz.

The Chair welcomed guests and introduced our speaker.

Program:  Technology Reboot for Oconee Democratic Committee Our new head of the Communications committee, Freeland Abbott, reviewed in great detail all of the new tools he has set up for the committee, including a new Google Voice telephone number (706-705-2516), a new website (ocgadems.org), a Mail Chimp account to replace our old listserv, and Google Calendar and Shared Documents.  Donations through Act Blue will also soon be possible.

Business Session

Recognition Of Newly Elected OCDC Members:  There were no new members to recognize at this meeting.  However, Ann Stoneburner discussed expected upcoming vacancies.  One through a recent resignation and four others as Ann Stoneburner, Pat Adams and Sarajane Love volunteered to move to Emeritus status and Angie Eells to Ex Officio.  All of this to create openings on the Oconee County Democratic Committee for those who have taken leadership positions chairing our four principal committees.

Reports from Members of the Executive Committee, Committee of Principals and Liaisons:

Chair Angie Eells read and submitted a report of her activities in May.

Secretary Pam Davis called for additions or deletions to the previously circulated minutes of the April 18, 2017 Business Meeting.  Receiving none, she called for a motion to approve the minutes as submitted. Margaret Holt made the motion; it was seconded by Wanda Stitt-Gohdes and unanimously approved.

Treasurer Robert Wyatt informed the Committee that the current bank balance is  $1060.86.

Past Chair, Margaret Holt announced that Deborah Gonzalez (Democrat from Athens) will be running in 2018 for the seat now held by Regina Quick, District 117 House Of Representatives.

The Communications Committee:  Chair, Freeland Abbott referred to his presentation.

The Affirmative Action/Membership Committee: Chair, Jennifer Gude, noted that only Angela Thibodeaux responded to her email to her committee members.  Jennifer asked that members respond as soon as possible so she could schedule their first meeting.  On Affirmative Action/Membership are Committee Members Diana Jeffreys, Violet Dawe, Carolyn Crawford, Sarajane Love, and Vicky Moody, and Community Volunteers Susan Bleyle, Andrea Wellnitz, Fran Thompson, and Angela Thibodeaux.

The Candidate Recruitment and Development Committee: Chair, Tracey Wyatt discussed plans for the June 20th meeting when elected officials will speak about various aspects of running for office including qualifying, fund raising, and knocking on doors.

The Special Events and Fund Raising Committee:  Co-chair, Margaret Holt announced that this committee had met earlier and discussed several ideas for upcoming events.

Caucus Liaisons: Carolyn Crawford, Veterans Affairs Liaison had no report.  Melissa Hopkinson, Environmental Caucus Liaison, discussed our speaker in June, Rob Milsher, from Greening Georgia.

County Advisory Board Updates: Robert Wyatt noted that there was one opening on the Farmland Preservation Committee and three openings on the Keep Oconee County Beautiful Commission.

New Business: On behalf of Wendy Wade, Margaret Holt, informed the meeting that the upcoming 8th Annual White Linen Scholarship Gala will be held on Saturday, July 22, 2017 at 7pm at The Classic Center.  Please contact Wendy Wade for more information and to purchase tickets.

Upcoming Events: The co-event with ACCD scheduled for June 10, 2017 has been postponed.

The next OCDC meeting will be on June 20, 2017 at 6:30 pm. At the Oconee County Annex.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:00 pm


Respectfully Submitted, Pam Davis, Secretary

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *